Here’s a new blog post on Preemie Babies 101 that I highly recommend called “6 Things Not to Say to A Preemie Parent (And What to Say Instead)!” The author is Amy Carr.

As a parent of a child who spent time in the neonatal intensive care unit, I can tell you it was the birth experience I didn’t expect and hadn’t planned for. Though my daughter’s stay was shorter than some, the emotional fallout and shock of it all did not wear off for some time. Over the years working for Hand to Hold, I have read and responded to parents sharing similar comments on our support forums and our blog that express similar statements. What do we do when well-meaning friends and family say things that bring up all the emotions we have surrounding a baby’s hospitalization? [Read the rest on Preemie Babies 101]

