Creative-person vent time: I’m trying to publish a book, I care about quality, but why the blank blank blank am I supposed to have a pathological desire to be the “prettiest girl at the prom” and be astonishing and be leading a national movement before my book could be considered for publication.

Got rejected by an editor a couple of days ago. I’m ok with that, I know that even the best of writers go through 30 or 40 tries before acceptance. It’s what the editor said in rejection that kind of burned me up — not a “gotta have it” book. What makes it more special than all the other books about preemies and their families? (Never mind the fact that editors will tell you to make your book sound as close as possible to another successful book in the genre.) The answer to that is that I’m NOT trying to out-special the competition, I actually LIKE the competing books in the genre.

And then she’s criticizing about my lack of platform, a word I really hate, which means your visibility to society. You say you’re an advocate, but what do you really mean? She knows I managed to get a long feature news story on my topic in to something like seven metro newspapers (and this was hard) and she knows I’m speaking at nursing colleges on the topic, but she’s like “your blog’s ok but not enough comments and you need thousands of followers.” And I’m thinking, I’m a writer, not the president of The March of Dimes.

And it’s not that this lady is being un-kind; she is actually describing the market.

Ok, rant over. Now on to the next 10 agents….

