Whenever someone tells me they’re expecting a baby, I have to bite my tongue, and be careful not to say, “I hope you make it to term.” No, I tell myself, the appropriate response is, “Congratulations!” This is one of those things about being a preemie parent – when someone is giving updates and looking to commiserate about their experience so far, you must not terrify them.

I wish I had some “normal” memories to draw on from my son’s birth. Not getting to have the joyous birth experience you wanted is one of the losses preemie parents endure. I sometimes fantasize I could go back and edit the experience the way that movie directors will use computer animation to edit their old movies and re-release a special edition DVD set. (George Lucas did this twice with his original three Star Wars movies.)

Here’s how I might revise some scenes for the special edition:

The Drive – Let’s still have Dad driving Mom to the hospital, but just one hospital this time. That’s better than going to the small suburban hospital first…

See the rest of the post on Preemie Babies 101.

